Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

It is true that peer pressure plays an essential role in the lives of adolescents. Some people harbour a belief that can generate some disadvantages to affect their behaviours. While I partially agree with this statement, it is also a controversial issue that deserves an in-depth discussion. On the one hand, one of the main arguments to this favor is that peer pressure can cause people to do things they would not do with the hope of fitting to the same age group or being noticed. For example, people might bully others in the class to try to please others. Moreover, according to research from the Ministry of the Interior in Taiwan, it shows that peer pressure or the desire to impress their peers can cause a teen to take risks on things they are not willing to do, over 68% of adolescent crime in Taiwan also relates to the peer pressure. These indicate that the influence of the same age group indeed brings some effects. On the other hand, peer pressure can be necessary for young people and create good values. One of the reasons is that young people usually have more emotional support from their friends or the same age group of people; Also, friends can help adolescents create a sense of positive competition in their behaviors. For instance, two friends might put positive pressure on each other to go to study together and encourage each other to keep on good standard. In summary, there are more pros than cons in influencing youth actions due to peer pressure. However, I believe establishing the correct view and values might be more imperative, which can teach them to avoid the wrong decisions and understand relationships.