Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

Since the early 2000s the popularity of the newly invented social media started to grow with a rapidly accelerating pace. The first to become mainstream was Facebook but other platforms such as Instagram and Twitter soon followed and with them, the concerns of people who were afraid of what negative effects these media could have on individuals and society as a whole. On one hand, social media were originally created with the aim to connect people regardless of the physical distance between them and this was definitely accoplished. Moreover the exposure to culture and information from all over the globe that these platforms are able to provide us with, should not be underestimated. On the other hand, social media have evolved and their purpose also changed over time. If they used to be a tool to connect people, now their aim is mostly divisive, they implemented algorithms to maximise the screen time hence the revenue by tricking your brain into a state of addiction achieved by inducing the release of specific neurotransmitters. Moreover, modern social media like Instagram, where the individual has the tendency to post only his best pictures/experiences, can cause a false sense of reality and self comparisons that have been proven to be dangerous for the mental health of numerous users. Finally, social media like most phenomena are not inherently positive or negative, the approach the user has towards them is ultimately what really makes the difference. However, even though these platform have a huge potential, they are evolving into refined machines for mass control and for this reason an increasing amount of care should be taken as we make use of them.