Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, people have different views on the main environmental problems. Some think the reduction of some certain species of plants and animals is the primary environmental issue. Others hold the view that many problems are more serious than this problem. The first problem may make many impacts on our life indirectly. Firstly, nature loss can weaken the biodiversity that collectively dilutes and defends against some disease threats. For instance, scientists say that more diverse bird populations can help buffer humans against the effects of West Nile virus. Secondly, Deterioration of nature hurts our ability to heal, too. Numerous important medicines, including treatments for heart disease, Parkinson’s disease and various cancers, are derived from natural sources like plants and fungi. Biodiversity loss is threatening those resources, plus countless medicines yet to be discovered. These impacts are indirect to our life and are less direct than some other environmental problems. From my perspective, across the world, people are facing a wealth of new and challenging environmental problems including the loss of biodiversity every day. Pollution of air, water, and soil requires millions of years to recoup. Industry and motor vehicle exhaust are the number one pollutants. Heavy metals, nitrates, and plastic are toxins responsible for pollution. Besides, nuclear waste disposal has tremendous health hazards associated with it. Plastic, fast food packaging, and cheap electronic wastes threaten the well-being of humans. These issues have negative effects on our daily life directly. If we leave these problems alone, our life would be affected terribly. In conclusion, I think there are still many environmental issues that are more urgent and more significant than the first.