Nowadays, a lot of offices have open-space designs instead of separate rooms. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, many workplaces using open-space design instead of private rooms. Although open-space can boost productivity within workplaces, I believe that lack of privacy for workers will bring more drawbacks for each individual. The biggest advantage of open plan workspaces is the increase in productivity within work team. This is because workers can easily coordinate and collaborate with less awkward feelings within the workplace which leads to boost effectiveness in workload. In Indonesia for instance, in 2019 Sampoerna whic one of the big company in that country, changing their offices from private to more open plan spaces, after that development, the work effectiveness increased 20%. This data is conducted by National University Singapore. The major drawback is that open space means less privacy for each individual. This is because open space offices are reducing obstructed structure within workspace which cause each individual to be able to see each other's activity. Thus, workers are constricted to do private affairs and only focus on team projects. Moreover, less boundaries between workers can also lead to wrong doing. This is because each worker can spot other belongings and easily snatch it without notice. Research in the University of Australia suggests that open plan offices have higher risk of property loss rather than the private plan. Consequently, workers feel more distress when engaging in those kinds of situations. To conclude, I think the problem of having communal-space offices reduces each individual's privacy which leads to crime and this overshadows the benefit of increase in productivity within the workplace.