The problem of litter on the streets of many towns and cities is getting worse. Why are we seeing more litter on our streets, and what can be done about it?

There is more and more litter being left on the streets in public places. I will discuss the reasons causing this problem, and also some solutions to it in this essay. The reasons behind the increasing litter left on the street are the habits of modern people and the inconvenience of trash disposing. Firstly, there are always some careless people who have inadequate habits of throwing garbage anywhere. Secondly, there are more people who take out fast food from restaurants and eat it on the street to save time for the busy day. Thirdly, there is a lack of trash cans in the towns and cities, so people can not throw away their litter when they are outside. For example, after work, many people eat fast food on the street and can not find a right place to get rid of the garbage, so they may just throw it inappropriately. Toward this problem, there are some practical and fundamental solutions. In order to reduce the rubbish taken out from the fast food restaurants, stores can diminish the package of the food and encourage people to have their meals in stores by offering discounts. Another effective means to solve the problem is setting more rubbish bins along the roads so that people can toss their waste conveniently. Last but not least, educating people is the most radical way. For instance, in Taiwan, we teach children how to deal with litter appropriately in their elementary school lessons and remind people by posting signs and posters in public places. In conclusion, although this messy trouble on the street is annoying, there are various ways that we can work on to resolve it.