Some people think that young people should follow social traditions. Others think that they should be free to have their own way of living and behaving. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people are of the opinion that the youth should adhere to social traditions, while others hold the view that people should be free to act as an individual. From my perspective, both views are reasonable as each has its own merits; however, I am in agreement with the latter point of view. This essay intends to analyze both sides of the issue. On the one hand, there are several reasons to support the statement that it is better to show respect and follow the customs rituals which were passed down through generations. The reason for their beliefs is to conserve and nurture their cultural norms, values and festivals for the next generations and go on. This can be illustrated by the example that in Vietnam, we celebrate and organize a Hung King's Commemoration Day annually to pay tribute to remember the merits of building and defending our nations from the very first day. This will help to uphold community’s national identity as well as confirm each country’s position in the region and in a larger context. On the other hand, a section of population believe that the young do not have to act in compliance with all traditions for the fact that even if they are already outdated. For example, some families in remote areas which have sick people choose to conduct religious worship to relieve the sick people ’s emergency situation term instead of taking them to the hospitals. Moreover, we have to claim that independence and creativity can be stimulated if children are not bound by those traditional practices. To be more precise, the custom thinking of wearing “Ao dai” and other traditional costumes at Tet is no longer mandatory so important, instead, people can be more comfortable in choosing their outfits and clothes that suit their needs and show their own styles. In conclusion, the above-mentioned facts have created a dilemma when society evaluate the impact of this issue, and it has still sparked controversy in recent years. As far as I am concerned, I put more emphasis on the idea that the young community should have the freedom to live their lives freely.