Weddings are more expensive in many countries nowadays when compared to the past . What is the reason behind this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, individuals spend more money to organize weddings than they did in the past. I believe that this is a negative development caused by the enormous number of guests that are invited. Firstly, these days young couples that are getting married tend to invite more than ten times the number of guests that were invited to a wedding ceremony in the past. In other words, they have to spend enormous amounts of money on food, desserts and flowers. Additionally, they have to rent huge places so that everyone can have enough space for dancing. Also, at the end of the ceremony, like in the past, every guest can take home a small gift, and with a huge number of inmates, the price for all that presents is immense. For example, while in the past, the food costs around 2000 euros for all the individuals, these days it costs more than 20000 euros. In my opinion, this is a negative development because the young couple spend a lot of cash on guests and they will not have enough money to start a family. A wedding is usually a ceremony where the inmates give a bill with the scope of helping the new family to form. By spending lots of money on the location, food and decoration, the couple will not be able to make the first steps toward forming a family, and, therefore they will start the new life in the wrong way. In conclusion, I believe that spending enormous sums of bill on the location, decorations and food of a wedding is a negative development these days because it will make it harder for cohabitants to start a new life.