Some people say cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others say this is the only way to save such traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people believe that cultural traditions will disappear if they are used for money-making purposes, while others believe this is the only way to preserve such traditions. Personally, I agree that charging for cultural traditions is an effective way to maintain the cultural heritage but it is not the only solution. On the one hand, there is a reason why charging for traditions and cultural heritage can lead to the loss of local traditions and customs. Cultural traditions are priceless and turning these traditions into tourism purposes seems to reduce the preciousness of local traditions. For example, there are some temples that are supposed to be sacred places because they connect the gods and ordinary people are turning to famous tourist attractions and visitors have to pay entrance ticket fees to get into them. This inevitably makes the religious and sacred destinations mundane places like any other tourist destination, thus visitors do not comprehensively understand the meaning and importance of such traditions. As a result, these religious traditions will soon be eliminated. On the other hand, I believe charging for cultural traditions can be an effective way to maintain such traditions. This is because there are some traditions that require a huge amount of money to maintain. For instance, jugglery is a Vietnamese cultural heritage that requires the frequent replacement of equipment, and therefore once jugglery does not receive financial resources, it can disappear. However, I believe there are numerous ways out there to maintain cultural traditions, one of which is financial assistance from the government. If governments allocate part of the state budget to provide equipment and upgrade traditional facilities, not only are culture and traditions preserved but also a huge influx of tourists are attracted to the country, therefore boosting the country’s economy. In conclusion, while traditions can be destroyed if they are used for money-making purposes, I believe it can be a great way to preserve cultural traditions because some traditions need financial resources to maintain. However, this is not the only way to maintain traditional values as the government can also take responsibility by providing financial assistance.