26.Some people think that getting old is entirely bad, while others think that life of the elderly in modern world is much better than in the past. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Getting old is a natural process in our life. However, different people have different points of view about it. Some claim that getting old is absolutely passive while others argue that the lives of the old nowadays are much better than in the past. Considering the medical level and technology, I believe that old people have a better life than before. Firstly, the fact that the medical level is higher than before indicates that the living standard of elderly citizens is higher than before. To be more specific, with cutting-edge equipment, diseases that hide in the human body can be detected early in order to prevent them from getting worse. For example, an X-ray is one of these high- technology medical devices, and doctors usually use it to check cancers that occur in the brains of human beings. In addition, nutrition products can also help ease the process of getting old. As a result, the public in modern society has a longer life expectancy. Secondly, the old feel satisfied with their life as technology has made life more convenient. In other words, with the advancement of technology, the elderly can get in touch with their friends and family members at any time and any place. For instance, the old can make a phone call to their family members who live in other countries, even make a video. Besides, compared with limited entertainment methods in the past, there are more platforms on the Internet for entertainment, such as YouTube and Netflix. Consequently, the old get far away from loneliness nowadays. In conclusion, a better medical environment and technology enable elderly people to live longer and healthier lives, and they are no longer lonely. Therefore, I believe that senior citizens are living better now.