In the future all buses, cars and trucks will be driverless. Only people travelling inside those will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology in transportation sector has been booming at an unimaginable rate since the last century. Now a days, we imagine of a future where we will not need any human to drive our vehicles. Though there has been a growing tension in our society about what will happen in such scenarios, especially from the economic and ethical point of view, I think as a community we will be benefitted more from this type of innovations. First of all, autonomous driving will allow people to concentrate on other more important things rather then driving. For example, people can rest, read, have good time with family while the car is taking care of the journey by itself. Moreover, people who can not drive, especially sick or elderly people, will no longer have to depend on others to move from one place to other. Apart from these, we have financial advantages too. For instance, as the automobiles will be able to operate independently, we may not keep those idle when we dont these. So larger ride sharing scheme can be built and individual people may not need to buy their own tranport machines. As a result, a lot of families will be able to save the cost chauffer or parking garage. However, the main disadvantage of driverless motors is related to people's employment. Obviously there are millions of professional drivers all over the world and automating the driving poses a threat to their livelihood. In contrast to that, we can say that, similar catastrophic impact was anticipated for the handloom runners at the onset of the industrial revolution. But we have proof that technological advancement creates a lot of new job opportunities while diminishing the existing ones. Government, car manufacturers and everyone involved in the industry can work closely to find the solution. In a nutshell, this is a natural progression that vehicles will achieve the capability to drive by themselves with modern artifical intelligence. And I think people will embrace these schemes quite spontaneously as that benefits them directly. So to keep the progress sustainable, we need to explore how we can rehabilitate the people who will be affected.