In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Nowadays, countries with sufficient means have a higher life expectancy than in the past, but this can also cause problems in society. Therefore, society could take measures to change these negative effects. The problems that this subject can create could be, firstly that the the elderly people produce a big cost for the state of this kind of nation which can afford to offer a significant expense. This will result in large pensions for the elderly and higher taxes for the citizens. These older people will also need to spend a lot of money on medical care, which can also be problematic. However, in order to deal with this type of problem, it is necessary to take some solutions like retirement planning, or encouraging individuals to save money for their retirement and to consider the option of working in a quieter way such as part-time work. Other measures can be promoted regarding healthy lifestyles to encourage people to a healthier food consumption to reduce the diseases related to nutrition and that will reduce the amount spent on medical care. Other solutions could be to set up schemes to help the elderly at a lower cost, family allowances or to invest more funding in medicine so that individuals do not have to spend so much. To sum up, we can take a lot of measures to reduce these problems caused by the ageing population. It is crucial that individuals, the state, governments and the whole world work to reduce this negative aspect of age life.