Some companies allow workers to dress casually, while others insist on a formal dress code. Discuss both views and express your opinion.

People have recently expressed different views on whether businesses should allow their staff to dress down at the workplace or employees must adhere to the company's formal dress code. Personally, I am in agreement with the former opinion for the following reasons. The primary reason is that a free dressing style improves working performance as well as productivity. This is explained as dressing casually creates a friendly working environment, which boosts workers’s creation, and therefore motivates the staff to work better. Take Microsoft as a typical example, their dress code is “anything goes as long as you are clean”. They do not put any restriction on how their staff dress, and therefore they have emerged as the most successful multinational company in the globe. Additionally, a less strict dress code can boost employee morale. It means that each position has a feature in the dress code to identify who they are. By contrast, comfortable clothing makes it less hierarchical, which results in increasing confidence among staff as they can express their individuality and in turn, staff are instilled with a strong sense of self-confidence in being different and expressing their individuality. In other words, they feel eager to go to work every day without being bored by having a repetitive style. Those on the other side of the issue may say that dress codes make businesses appear more professional. However, only a small number of occupations rely on uniforms or formal business attire for a professional recognition while most others do not share this nature. As a result, an obligatory formal dress code in such cases proves unjustifiable. In conclusion, it is undeniable that a less strict dress code can be beneficial for companies. They can create a positive working environment, which is crucial in boosting the companies’ morale as well as their profit.