IT IS COMMONLY BELIEVE THAT NOWADAYS MAIN FACTOR THAT AFFECT A CHILD’S DEVELOPMENT ARE MEDIA,POP CULTURE AND FRIENDS.A DIFFERENT POINT OF VIEW IS THAT FAMILY PLAYS THE MOST SIGNIFICANT ROLE.DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION

These days, some people perceive that children's development is influenced by peer groups, social media and music while others think that family have a major influence on young ones' behaviour. In my opinion, I believe that family plays a major role in a child's growth and the subsequent paragraphs of this essay will discuss my reasons and both views. On the one hand, the way a child matures can be affected by their friends, media or pop culture because nowadays youngsters spend quality time on the internet listening to their favourite music or watching videos online which indirectly affects the way they act. Furthermore,they also have mentors among these celebrities on social media whom they imitate. Kids' attitudes are easily influenced by their friends and most of them fall victim to peer pressure. For instance, a child whose friends like wearing fitted clothes or they have a particular haircut that their parents don't usually barb or plait for them will try to convince their mother and father that they want to wear fitted dresses and have their haircuts just like their friends. On the other hand, I believe that family have the main influence on children's development because couples nurture their offspring from the cradle and they are the first agents of socialization. Kids watch their father and mother's behavior and they learn from it. The type of television show that children watch also can be regulated by their parents. It is also the responsibility of guardians and relatives to correct children in love when they go out and learn attitudes that are not acceptable to them. I believe that when morals are instilled properly in young ones it will be difficult for them to copy their friend's behavior. In addition, couples can also ensure that their offspring relate with the right people and grow in a healthy environment thereby leading to positive growth. For example, research has shown that the attitude of people is formed from cradle to adolescence and the type of family a kid is raised in has a major influence on their maturity. In conclusion, some individuals think that friends, music or the media mostly affect youngsters' development because they spend a lot of time on the internet copying their preferred celebrity and they are easily influenced by peer groups. I believe that the family is the primary agent of socialization that instils the right behaviour in kids and corrects them where necessary.