The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Science is a subject that studies natural phenomena, generates data, arrives at conclusions and tests these conclusions through experiments to derive theories of functioning. These theories are then applied in various fields to serve human needs. Currently, there is a predominant thinking that science should focus mainly on improving human life to the exclusion of everything else. However, as such thinking will limit the scientific field and hordes of unexplored phenomena will remain as mysteries, this essay will present arguments disagreeing with the statement. Firstly, if scientific studies were to focus only on improving people's lives, then scientists would be concentrating their efforts on looking for a match between current human problems and the aspect of nature that might have a solution for them. For example, a current issue that faces humankind is the proliferation of waste and if the only way scientists could manage this problem was to focus on studying waste management techniques that can be observed in nature, then laboratories around the world would have to scrap some very valuable forays into research in order to target this. Such an endeavour will prove shortsighted in the long run as there are many concurrent human problems that need solutions. Secondly, all scientific study to date has resulted in improving human life because of the field of technology which is basically applied science. Hence, there should not be any need to turn science into a duplicate of technology. For instance, a purely scientific discovery of the moon being a natural satellite orbiting around the Earth led to the launch of artificial satellites for the purpose of aiding human life through technology. This distinction between the two subjects is working very well without expecting science to deliver the same things as technology. In conclusion, making the betterment of men's lives the sole aim of science will restrict the growth of human knowledge and additionally, it will duplicate the efforts of technical research making such a pursuit a waste of effort in many ways, as shown in the above paragraphs. It is best to leave science to generate new knowledge which can then be picked up by technology to apply it for making human activity easier.