Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

The excessive consumption of sugary food and drinks is the main cause of some diseases. Some people opine that one of the effective methods to tackle the problem is increasing the price of these products. I totally disagree with this view and believe that there are other effective approaches to solve the issue. It can be said that producing expensive sugary foods and beverages is not an effective way for diminishing uncontrolled consumption. Anyway, a part of society can afford any price of these products and this method only prevents a group of people's consumption. However, it seems that a suitable education at an early age for individuals can address this problem. For example, a person who is actually aware of the repercussions of eating foods with high levels of glucose tries to eat them much less. For this purpose, authorities should apply different types of educational methods, such as school classes, radio, television, magazines and social media, in order to raise public awareness in this case. Also, governments can make better decisions about over- consumption of sugar-based products by setting up new rules for producing them. In other words, they can determine the standard level of glucose in all foods and drinks in a way that they do not have any perils for public health and therefore, a company in which these goods widely generate should follow the regulations for that purpose. Thus, the vast majority of consumers consume sweet meals and sugary drinks without any worries about obesity, cardiovascular issues, and other illnesses related to them. To conclude, although generating sugar-based meals can partly decrease the consumption of these products, I personally believe that there are other effective steps to address this problem and I have already mentioned them above.