Some people believe that time spent on television and computer games can valuable for children. Other believe this has negative impact on a child. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays watching TV shows and playing video games are very popular among children. Some argue that these activities affect children negatively, while others think they may benefit them. This essay will explain both views and give examples before revealing my own opinion. On the one hand, watching television and playing computer games can be useful for children. There are some TV programs such as quiz shows and documentary films which are beneficial for mental development. These shows can improve their logic and worldview. For example, in Azerbaijan, there is one channel called "Ictimai TV " which shows such a program every Sunday at 18:00 and here school pupils demonstrate their knowledge. Similarly, some strategy-based video games can improve critical thinking ability, imagination and creativity. In addition, studies show that social skills can also be gained through online games. For instance, there is a famous online computer game called "Battlefield" which contains teams that try to win the match. In this game, children can contact their peers and make distant friendships. On the other hand, excessive use of these technologies can have different drawbacks like mental issues, physical health problems etc. Moreover, too much screen time harms the eyes and brain. It also affects the hormonal system. According to the research of Oxford University in 2018, looking at a screen for more than 5 hours a day reduces the processing of melatonin which in turn affects sleep quality. In conclusion, although TV has its positive aspects, it also has many negative effects. should monitor what their children watch and engage with. In this way, they can benefit from the advantages of these technologies.