Education, from preschool through university, should be paid for by the government and therefore free to students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Like there are two sides to a coin, the debate on who must pay the tuition fees for students is also two-sided. While, some say that it's the family’s duty, others believe that the government bears such responsibility of providing free education to all children. I unequivocally agree with the latter point of view, as not every child can afford education, although each child has the right to education. On the one hand, the quality of education comes hand-in-hand with tuition fees. Families who have substantially saved for their child ’s education would want their child to attend the best schools with highly experienced teachers and good facilities. For example, IVM school takes $10,000 per year from each student as tuition fees. However, the quality of education and services is outstandingly good that the students end up in one of the seven Ivy League schools for their undergraduate program. On the other hand, not every child can afford to enrol in such top-notch schools. 40% of the American population lives below the poverty line. Subsequently, even making ends meet on a daily basis is a challenge for them. As a result, kids work multiple jobs to provide for their family and education becomes the least of their concern as they cannot financially afford it. However, if the government makes education free, more students would start enrolling in schools and colleges. For instance, in 2020 when the University of Texas reduced its tuition fees by 50%, the number of students who enrolled in various courses skyrocketed by 70%. In conclusion, it's not the children's fault that they come from a financially poor background. In the goal of giving equal opportunity to all children, the government must take further steps to make education affordable.