Many people like to eat unhealthy food even though they know it's bad for them. Why is this? What is an effective way to improve people's healthy eating habits?

It is true that junk food has negative impacts on health, however, the truth does not influence its popularity although people know it. From my perspective, the phenomenon deserves an in-depth discussion in the following, and possible reasons and solutions will be drawn. Initially, the front and the centre factors to cause the trend of unhealthy food is that its taste is usually better than healthy meals.These kinds of food are mostly made of oil, salt and chemicals which stimulate consumers' taste buds and result in continual consumption. Moreover, its price is lower since the ingredients are cheaper. For example, in Taiwan, healthy meal boxes are generally more than 150 dollars, while fried chicken bento boxes are normally around 100 dollars. Considering the expense and flavours, most individuals prefer to have junk food. The problem can be improved by arousing public awareness of the harmful consequences that fattening food causes to health and encouraging individuals to change their eating habits. As an illustration,the Singapore government designed a symbol on beverages to help consumers distinguish sugar content at a glance. In addition, as social media have become part of daily life, these ideas can be effectively promoted through them. For instance, nowadays more and more people pay attention to body fitness. Besides exercise, the importance of a balanced diet considerably increases. There are numerous videos which teach the audience how to cook healthy food in a delicious and much-saving way. To sum up, the reasons why crowds choose to eat junk food in spite of its damage to the human body are because of its flavours and expense. Nevertheless, the problem can be alleviated by evoking the public consciousness of health and motivating fellows to make changes in diet.