Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages? You should write at least 250 words.

It is believed by some people that eating local food is more advantageous, economically and environmentally, as compared to consuming imported food items. This can deprive people of having a cultural experience, by not being able to try food from different countries, nevertheless, it is economically beneficial for the local shop owners. I would argue that the benefits certainly outweigh the drawbacks. The greatest benefit of purchasing more local food items is that it is economically beneficial to the local market and shop owners. The more sales they make, the more income the shop owners will generate and the more well-known their shop will become. Tourists, for example, play a huge role in making a small food shop famous and popular for its food by promoting it through uploading pictures on their social media handles. Although this might not be a big deal for tourists with a huge number of followers on their social media handles, it makes a huge difference for the shop owners as their sales can drastically rise due to this small action. Even though the advantages may seem to have a big role, the disadvantages can't be ignored. The biggest drawback of only having local food items in the market is that the public won't get a chance to taste other unique flavours from various countries. If they don't try out different flavours, they will be deprived of a cultural experience that they can have. For example, for a chef, it can be a disadvantage if he is entering an international competition and has only tried his local food, not knowing the taste of other international dishes. In conclusion, by making this decision society not only gains economic benefits but also faces disadvantages such as not getting the opportunity to try new unique flavors of imported food. Nevertheless, I believe that the advantages are more important than the disadvantages.