Scientists predict in the near future, cars will be driven by computers, not people. Why? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that we will begin to see the emergence of autonomous cars in years to come. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors which give rise to this development before concluding that it would bestow enormous benefits upon our society. The advent of self-driving cars is attributable to a myriad of underlying factors. Firstly, given mankind's relentless pursuit of convenience, self-driving vehicles seem like a natural progression. This desire has been emboldened by momentous technological leaps in recent decades. Moreover, the prospect of unmanned vehicles could be reinforced by the fact that the fast-paced technological innovation in the modern world nowadays has already made impressive strides in such fields. For instance, Tesla, a pioneer in the self-driving car industry, has already invented the first car that is almost fully self-driving. There are a host of compelling reasons as to why I believe that this invention would yield profound merits to human society. First and foremost, given the fact that the vast majority of traffic accidents are the result of human error, letting cutting-edge autonomous driving features take the wheel, which could help eliminate reckless behaviors such as drunk driving, road rage, or speeding, could save thousands of lives every year. Increased road safety aside, uncrewed vehicles could be a game-changer that will boost economic growth, as they help cut down operating costs, for example, salary, training, liability insurance associated with human drivers. In conclusion, the ambition of humankind and the technological breakthroughs in the present are the driving forces for the advent of autonomous vehicles in times to come, and I am convinced that this type of vehicle, once popularized and optimized, would contribute greatly to road safety and bring about a thriving economy.