Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned in the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as bicycles, buses, and taxis on vehicle-free days. Do you think the benefits of vehicle-free days outweigh the disadvantages?

Escalation in technological development currently derives a rampant and popular usage of transportation in people's daily life. Yet, there is an emergence of non-vehicle days in multiple megapolis whence residents were prohibited from using private vehicles. This tendency is viewed in an optimistic way, due to numerous benefits it has provided, whereas some potential problems arise behind this trend. Alleviating environmental issues is this trend’s most significant impact. As most urbanists nowadays suffer from such low air conditions, ranging from immense greenhouse gas emissions to harmful exhaust fumes from vehicles. If a non-traffic day occurs, it effectively addresses this issue by cutting down emission problems from the deepest root. Moreover, residents commuting in the city will be put at a remarkably lower risk of respiratory diseases such as COPD. Not only improving cities’ air quality, having non-vehicle days also limits the hazard of road collisions. For instance, heavy traffic in rush hour is a pervasive cause of tragic accidents, which result in numerous injuries of various levels or even regretful mortality. Having days when private vehicles are regulated spurs a rise in public transportation usage, much safer and eco-friendly than using private cars or motorbikes. Albeit the aforementioned advantages, there are several factors that concern citizens in following this trend. The Logistics and Transit industry has been badly affected since this tendency emerged. Under a limitation of private transportations transferring in the cities, deriving a low amount of commuting tools. Consequently, it poses a tremendous impact on logistic and transfer platforms, reducing urban economic growth or working productivity. As can be seen manifestly, highly perishable goods such as vegetables, meat, and milk products need to be preserved and transferred in appropriate conditions. If private transportation is banned, difficulties will arise. Another worth-considering aspect is the inconvenience for urbanists, especially those who tend to have long-distance trips. Walking or cycling for hundreds of kilometres seems unfeasible and exhausting. Furthermore, the public transportation network may fail to meet the massive demand of the whole city’s dwellers. As a result, delays and overcrowded trains and buses will occur regularly. To sum up, this tendency provides multiple upsides, while there are many demerits that need to be taken into account. Unless some adequate policies are introduced, problems will not be addressed utterly.