When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

It is a common idea that the first impression is the most important thing in a relationship. Based on this, people tend to choose if they will keep in touch with someone on the first day. I firmly believe this kind of behaviour is not beneficial. This essay will address my thoughts on this topic and rationales. First, you can misjudge someone and lose an opportunity to have great friends quickly. It is clear that not everyone feels comfortable showing their real personality when they just met. Moreover, it is natural to take time to be close to someone and open up. For example, one study of social relationships in college shows how much people get nervous when they meet new people on the first orientation day. The majority of students stated that they couldn’t be sociable as much as they usually do that day. That’s why you should not pick the person who wants to be a friend only based on the first impression. If you have an open mind for everyone, you will get more chances to meet amazing people. Secondly, this tendency can give a bad reputation to you. If you too quickly make assumptions about someone and decide the people with whom you want to hang out, people will think you are very a judgemental individual. This can make it way harder to be friends with someone later. For instance, people usually agree that it is difficult to be friendly toward someone who chose a friend group too soon in the early semester because they feel that these people unfairly treated other people. So it would be positive for you to take time to get to know someone. To put it in a nutshell, the initial impression is not imperative as as people think. If you are willing to wait a bit more, you can have more opportunities to meet good people and protect your reputation too.