Write about the following topic: In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It has become popular for the young to not pursue tertiary education, but to start work-based training instead. Although this may have some advantages, in my opinion, not getting a university degree has some significant disadvantages instead. Vocational training increases person's quality of life. Compared to students' tight budget, a person with work-based training is able to become financially independent faster in life, thus, moving out from their parents sooner. They are able to start their career form an earlier age and gain knowledge from the workplace and become a professional in their field through years of practice. Some of the young people learn better this way instead of by reading. These factors are important to consider, however, I do think the amount of possibilities the university degree can bring clearly outweighs them. Some people may think that getting a university degree is a waste of time, since it does not offer practical skills besides the academic ones. On the contrary, I do think that by developing analytical and critical thinking, it is possible to pursue higher positions at work in the future by understanding complex structures and being able to read academic articles related to latest trends in the field. In addition, academic years offer endless possibilities to socialize, create friendships and most importantly, to network. Young people will miss this all out when choosing alternative training. To conclude, it's evident that by pursuing on-the-job-training will create economic independence for a person faster in life, however, by getting a university degree it's possible to go further careerwise. Therefore, I do think that disadvantages of not getting an academic knowledge outweighs the advantages that alternative training may provide.