You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It has become popular for the young to not pursue tertiary education, but to start work-based training instead. Although this may have some advantages, in my opinion, not getting a university degree has more significant disadvantages. Vocational training increases a person's quality of life. Compared to students' tight budgets, a person with work-based training is able to become financially independent faster in life, thus, moving out from their parents sooner. They are able to start their career from an earlier age gaining knowledge from the workplace and become a professional in their field through years of practice. Some of the young people learn better this way instead of by reading. These factors are important to consider, however, I do think the number of possibilities the educational institution can bring clearly outweighs them. Some people may think that getting a academic degree is a waste of time since it does not offer practical skills besides academic ones. On the contrary, I do think that by developing analytical and critical thinking, it is possible to pursue higher positions at work in the future by understanding complex structures and being able to read academic articles related to the latest trends in the field. In addition, academic years offer endless possibilities to socialize, create friendships and most importantly, network. Young people will miss this all out when choosing alternative training. To conclude, it's evident that pursuing on-the-job training will create economic independence for a person faster in life, however, by getting a degree it's possible to go further careerwise. Therefore, I do think that the disadvantages of not getting academic knowledge outweigh the advantages that alternative training may provide.