In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Human longevity has been improving drastically in developed countries. Issues such as insufficient pensions and lack of health care support can inevitably arise due to this improvement. However, these problems can be mitigated with a few measures including lifting the retirement age restrictions and prioritising preventive healthcare. People are living longer due to our advancement in medical development. While this may be wonderful for humanity, there are also knock-on effects on both individuals and society. Longer lifespans can result in a lack of healthcare and insufficient allowance for aged individuals. Debilitating diseases such as dementia and stroke can turn out to be prolonged sufferings and burdens. In Japan, for example, it has the highest ageing population while many families are facing challenges of looking after the elderly. Another issue is that many people can easily run out of their savings in old age. While the older generations work for all their lives providing for their families, their savings may not be enough to cover for another thirty years of retirement lives. These will unavoidably put a strain on state budgets for pensions and aged care. Take the UK government for example, billions of pounds have been added to the pensions while other sectors such as unemployment support are slashed. Despite its seemingly problematic outcomes, there are a few measures that can be taken to tackle those issues. The most immediate step is to lift the age restriction on retirement. Instead of imposing retirements after a certain age, healthy individuals should be encouraged to work longer. This will in turn contribute to the taxes and save state budgets on pensions. Another measure that can be taken is to implement preventive healthcare and community support. In other words, governments should fund exercise programs, nutrition classes, provide home visits and counselling services for aged groups in communities. These will mitigate aged care challenges and promote healthier lives after retirement. In conclusion, although improvements in human lifespans are wonderful for humanity, issues such as lack of healthcare and insufficient savings can inevitably arise. Governments should lift retirement age restrictions and fund preventive healthcare in order to adapt to this new reality.