As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

It is important for businesses, besides the primary goal of making a profit, to take their social responsibilities. I totally agree with this statement because along with its contribution to society, social activities can bring remarkable benefits to the company itself. On the one hand, there are strong reasons why businesses should accept that they have social responsibilities. Firstly, the production process of enterprises can produce hazardous waste, which has detrimental effects on the environment and human health. For example, toxic emissions from factories and vehicles which are used to transport the product contribute to air pollution and several respiratory diseases among people. Secondly, every individual shares the accountability to better society, especially those who have a big sphere of impact and financial capacity like companies and businessmen. For instance, thanks to the involvement of Bitis, a Vietnamese shoe company, thousands of trees were erected in order to generate the lungs of the environment. On the other hand, embracing social duties can also drive profits for businesses in many ways. The first advantage corporations can take of that is to cultivate positive brand recognition. This, as a result, can increase customer retention and loyalty since they once knew that part of the company ’s profit would be channelled to social causes near and dear to them. In addition, social duty programs can increase employee engagement, which has an impact on how profitable the company can be. For example, a company raising a campaign championing women’s rights can boost the morale of their female staff in the first place, and this can lead to greater productivity. In conclusion, I believe that businesses are the first responsible group for social duties and taking those responsibilities can actually bring them back more profit in a long way.