Some people believe that studying in a college or university is the best way for students to prepare for their future career. Others think they should leave school as soon as possible to develop their career through work experience gained in the workplace. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In Germany, the number of academic students has increased in the last few years. While opponents state that work experience is essential for a successful career, I agree with those who see colleges and universities as an optimal fundament to succeed. Without a doubt, practical experience is essential for professional development. For instance, organising a working day efficiently and avoiding distractions caused by meetings and emails pose a challenge to today's young professionals. All these impressions are fairly new to newcomers and they need time to structure their work. Hence, it is extremely valuable to start working early and adapt to the conditions. Moreover, the atmosphere in offices is fundamentally different compared to universities. As the employee structure in companies consists of a wide range of different age groups, meeting the multifaceted needs is uniquely challenging. Consequently, this leads to a lack of self-confidence among starters and, in the following, can be solved by extending professional training. However, for performing a professional position, a broad theoretical background is essential to develop the aptitude for problem-solving. In academic education, to illustrate the point, an emphasis is placed on teaching approaches to meet new problems. Therefore, academics are capable of using several methods to outline a solution. Additionally, university studies strongly require high self-initiative to structure and organise it independently. For instance, students must choose between different modules and additional courses and structure them thoughtfully in their timetable. Consequently, this leads to an increase in self-initiative. In conclusion, although work experience is a key component for professional success, it is crucial to underscore that theoretical background and self-initiative, which are developed by university studies, predominantly support professional growth. Thus, it would be prudent to consider these advantages and disadvantages to decide thoughtfully.