Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

To access the software of technology companies, many individuals are choosing the option of sharing their personal information. This essay argues despite the main advantage of this trend is that they get free access of application software from technology companies, I believe that there are more disadvantages as their personal data can be stolen by anyone easily. The primary benefit is that people get free access to any chosen application. In today's world, nothing is free and if they are able to purchase any useful software application in exchange for their personal details, there is no harm in that. This helps them to save their money and successfully accomplish the task for which they compromised their own data. One good illustration of this is the Course Hero software, which is used by a number of university students at no cost just by sharing some personal information, and it helps them as a guide for assessment work. Thus, this essay, however, believes that this is a very short-sighted view and the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages. In spite of the abovementioned benefits, the major disadvantage is that it can steal people's information. When they comprise their details in the greed of getting something free, it does not reap any fruitful results, and instead offer more negative results than any positive outcome. Once the details are shared, it always remains in the system and can be used by fraudsters, particularly, to steal their money. For instance, the Temu application was under fire recently, which earlier claimed to offer many free gift vouchers to the application installers, but it stole enormous people's financial information. In conclusion, although the exchange of an individual's personal details offers the free access to software, but I deem that it puts their personal data at great risk of being stolen.