In some countries, parents are choosing to teach children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do the advantages of homeschooling outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern times, education for the youth has evolved drastically, introducing several new methods of teaching every few years. In light of this, homeschooling has become increasingly popular among children and has raised skepticism regarding its effectiveness and practicality. I strongly believe that though there are undeniable benefits to this method, they are tremendously outweighed by the disadvantages. Proponents of homeschooling might argue that this form of education protects children from school conflicts and eliminates peer pressure, thus allowing them to fully concentrate on their studies. However, this is simply unrealistic as schools operate under strict regulations to ensure students’ attentiveness during classes. Moreover, various factors at home could undoubtedly distract children from studying, especially entertainment devices which significantly stultify their educational attainment. This is evidenced by the Covid-19 pandemic as academic performance worldwide declined dramatically due to students struggling to pay attention to online lectures. Regarding the pullbacks, children who are homeschooled are robbed of a scholastic social life, which could cause a lack of soft skills and teamwork ability that are vital to progress in work environments. This could irrefutably result in a workforce that lacks synergy and poor collaboration, which ultimately hinders the development of a country’s economy. Lastly, homeschooling does not follow a proper curriculum which is not only prominent in preparing the pupils for either higher levels of study or work but also in qualifying them to be granted valuable educational degrees. This could entail many difficulties for students who plan to pursue college or seek employment in the future and lay the bedrock of a harsh adulthood. In conclusion, while teaching children at home undoubtedly brings some advantages, the pullbacks significantly outweigh them.