It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Do the advantages of having a year off outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, taking a gap year after finishing high school and pursuing tertiary education has been ubiquitous. Although this trend has merits, in my opinion, the drawbacks are more significant. To commence with, there are a few plus points of having a year off after graduating from high school. Firstly, students who join immediately into the labour market after high school could acquire new experiences in the practical labouring circumstance. In addition, they also have more time to think cautiously and carefully about their future major. Students, however; may take the option of travelling and experiencing the world instead of working during the gap year. This supports them in gaining new knowledge in terms of language and culture. To put it simply, whenever coming to a new place people will have a chance to immerse themselves in the local cultures and even learn a new language which increases their confidence and knowledge. On the other hand, the consequences of having a year off should be taken into consideration; For instance, Students having a year break may confront peer pressure as others who attend immediately to the university after graduation will have more job opportunities. Furthermore, the temptation of earning money may discourage students from coming back to school. To illustrate, those students often have a tendency to neglect their studies after several months of receiving their salary and they may have a lavish lifestyle or they simply think that earning money is much easier and quicker than wasting their time in some years at a university. Those aforementioned reasons clearly show the drawbacks of taking a gap year after high school graduation and all gap year takers should consider it. In conclusion, having a year off can bring a number of positive outcomes which are overshadowed by its shortcomings. Therefore, it is advisable for high school graduates to think carefully before making decisions.