Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays society is concerned about the issue of older people living longer. Some people think that this group of population brings problems for governments. Even though the elderly population group also gives a lot of positive moments and benefits for the society. This topic is very controversial but, in my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. The main disadvantage of this area of social questions is social insurance and pension payments, which are paid from government budget. In order to maintain a good standard and quality of living for this group of society, it is necessary to constantly analyse the prices for medicines, food, medical care, and social services (for example, transport system). In this case, price changing on this categories is directly related to the amount of payments from government budget. However, the budget is mainly related to ordinary taxpayers. As a result, the percentage of taxes may not always be constant and ordinary people may pay more taxes to government. On the other hand, there is a very important advantage in this situation. Most seniors interact very closely with other groups of population, because at this period of time they mostly want to spend their time with their family and people they know very well. It provides the opportunity to fill everyday life with positive emotions, various activities and movements. Also, it should not be forgotten that seniors have invaluable experience and knowledge, which they can share to a younger generation. This can have a positive impact on the formation of the society in future. In conclusion, it seems to me that processing an aging is more beneficial. There is an exchange of positive emotions and knowledge between the group of older people and all groups of population.