Although it is generally illegal, physical punishment continues in many countries. Some argue that parents should have the right to punish their children in this way. Do you agree or disagree?

The issue of how to discipline children has always been a contentious topic among parents. Despite being prohibited by law in many countries, some parents insist that corporal punishment is the most effective way to discipline their children. I strongly disagree with this viewpoint because physical punishment deteriorates the intimate relationship and triggers more behaviour issues. Primarily, corporal punishment permanently damages the relationship between parents and young children. Psychologically, when juveniles are physically punished, they cry not just from the pain but also due to the erosion of trust and intimacy they originally had with their caregivers. Young minds are unable to extract the intended lesson from physical pain. Instead, they are likely to feel unloved. Furthermore, physical punishment destroys the trust between the young and their parents. For instance, if one 12-year-old boy is struck by his father for cheating in an exam, he may lose confidence in his father’s ability to be content with his academic performance or to tolerate any of his further mistakes. Consequently, he will resort to other means of cheating again. More significantly, corporal discipline leads to more behaviour problems, such as violence and dishonesty. Specifically, violent behaviour can be passed from parents to their children. Researchers have found that children who are subjected to violent punishment are more likely to exhibit aggressive behaviour towards others. As for the dishonesty, it arises from the fear of physical punishment. It is natural for people to lie in order to avoid severe consequences. In conclusion, while physical punishment may appear effective in the short term, it damages the parent- children relationship and can result in troublesome behaviours.