To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The rising number of world population has urged the need to find alternative food sources, such as edible insects. While some groups believe that this might be an innovative solution, some are against this notion because it can potentially create negative impacts on our nature. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of consuming insects. On one hand, the idea of turning insects into the food can address problems of food affordability and the overexploitation of existing food resources. The world has witnessed a striking surge in food prices, such as meat and rice. Consequently, many people primarily in developing countries are not able to meet their daily nutrition intake, especially protein. Furthermore, humans have proven to exploit nature by engaging in practices that are not sustainable, for instance overfishing, threatening food availability in the future. The consumption of insects can help solve both problems because of their abundant presence. On the other hand, consuming insects can be detrimental to nature due to insects ' pivotal role in the environment. Insects have maintained environmental sustainability by becoming the agents that pollinate flowers and the source of food for other animals. Removing insects from their habitat can disrupt this harmony. For example, the population of birds can significantly decrease due to the loss of insects for human needs. As a consequence, their function can also diminish. This can create collateral damages that humans never imagined before. In conclusion, utilizing insects as a source of food can be both beneficial and dangerous. It is essential to strike a balance between 'harvesting' insects for our food and maintaining their existence in nature to ensure both food and environmental sustainability for the human race.