Some believe that history has little to teach us about today while others think that the study of the past helps us to understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

History means studying the past for several reasons. Some folks believe that the past has only a few things to teach nowadays, while others opine that teaching the past helps present society in many ways. However, in my perspective, there are several benefits of learning past such as valuable lessons and learning from past mistakes, and this essay discusses both stances in detail before framing my opinion. To begin with, some people are not in favour of teaching history due to several possible reasons. Firstly, they believe that each era is unique and cannot compared to the past. This means that comparing the problems of this decade with the old one is not significant due to various conditions like lifestyle, and technology changes. For example, global warming is one of the biggest issues, nowadays, but it can only be controlled by changing today's world like less use of fuels instead of going through the past. Secondly, it has an extra burden on students in school because of no use of studying past such as wars. On the other side, few thought that learning past has a significant impact on today's generation. The foremost reason is studying the past helps us understand the root causes of current diseases such as communicable diseases. For example, while finding the diagnosis of patients, doctors always check their past problems like the history of typhoid fever in previous years. Apart from that, it allows us to learn from the successes and failures of previous generations. To illustrate, in past, the majority of people had less awareness about different agricultural methods such as irrigation, and seasonal crops which ultimately caused financial burdens on them. Hence, learning from the past is crucial as well as beneficial for this era. To conclude, there is no doubt that there is a big debate about teaching the past. Some believe that it is beneficial because it helps us to find out the root causes of several situations such as disorders and successes and failures of the last few generations, while others propose it is not only a burden on offspring but also hard to compare between two decades. Nevertheless, I opine that learning a few crucial things about history would be beneficial for the community and future research such as technology.