Currently, there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicines. However, at best these medicines are ineffective and at worst they might be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Whilst the usage of alternative treatments is increasing, I strongly agree that this trend poses a detrimental effect on human health and well-being. Not only do they are ineffective, but also they might be dangerous to our body. First and foremost, different forms of medicine often do not register to international standards. Nowadays, doctors are only permitted to prescribe medications according to the guidelines, based on the research evidence. As per protocol, these substances must be tested under preclinical and clinical trials to prove their beneficial effect on the human body. For instance, FDA conducts three phases of trials to ensure the efficacy and safety of a novel drug. As for alternative drugs, they often skip this crucial procedure and arrive directly to the patients, therefore their effectiveness and adverse effects remain unclear. At best, these alternative methods provide a marginally lower improvement to the disease compared to conventional medications. Secondly, non-standardized cures can be harmful and life-threatening. The absence of scientific research and regulations for these kinds of medicine resulted in the lack of quality control, making it difficult to ensure its safety in treatments. As an example, people tend to require more aggressive surgery after being treated in alternative chiropractic clinics to fix their bone fractures. In fact, they might only need to go under minor operations if they went to the hospital directly. In conclusion, this attitude towards the use of alternative therapies remains a formidable challenge. I strongly believe that alternative cures are ineffective and might be dangerous for our health. Therefore, scientific research and regulations are needed prior to alternative cures implementation.