It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parent and teacher be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

There is an opinion asserting that punishing children should be taken into consideration to teach them about identifying right and wrong at an early stage of life. I completely agree with this opinion as children will know the negative consequences of misbehaving. However, mild punishments should be allowed. Punishments can be confronted with several benefits. Initially, it is undeniable that if children understand that their mistakes can be associated with dissatisfying consequences, they will be encouraged to avoid doing them in the future, leading to a more well-bred person. In addition, children will adopt more serious decisions during adulthood both personally and professionally, followed by irreplaceable results. For this reason, punishments during childhood can play as a minor real experience to learn to behave logically, enabling them to assess the various probable aspects of action. Notwithstanding, all types of punishments are not acceptable, particularly those that are harsh physical and can bring mental disorders in the long run, leading to a sense of depression and isolation from society. In other words, punishments are fruitful to make children more reliable, not to impart the message that they are ignored by either parents or teachers. To illustrate, not allowing them to watch animations or do their favourite leisure activity can be deemed as some other measure, which can cause those children to think more deeply and become more sensitive about their behaviour. Consequently, they convert to more responsible characters rather than mentally harmed persons. In conclusion, punishments can assist children in achieving a better understanding of life. Yet, they should act in a manner that does not interrupt their social development.