Some people say that those who are selfish and does not care about others are more likely to success at work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that it is comparatively easier to become successful in the workplace if people are selfish and careless about others, while I have an adverse opinion. Details of my viewpoint will be elaborated in the following paragraphs. Firstly, people who are selfish and careless are not able to be successful in the workplace since the employees who have a good teamwork spirit are valued and promoted by companies rather than those staff who are willing to share their professional knowledge and working experiences. Working in a company involves daily collaboration with internal and external parties, and companies are always result-driven, thereby a person who is good at teamwork can deliver a better work result than one who is selfish. As a result, the employees who are unselfish and considerate are more possibly to be provided with leading jobs or promoted to important positions by the employers. For example, many international giant corporations mark teamwork as one of their core values, and normally staff performance assessments include the core values of the companies. Additionally, from a long-term perspective of personal development, people who are selfish and inconsiderate cannot succeed at work. Although, people who are selfish can obtain some short-term benefits, for instance, they can learn basic work knowledge faster than their peers because they do not spend time answering questions. However, working in a company needs to make friends and build solid relationships with co-workers and stakeholders, and work friends from different departments can share their knowledge and experiences. As a result, people can widen their versions and gain valuable information, and they can contribute more value to their employees and become more competitive in the human resource market so that they can be successful in the workplace. Adversely, people who are selfish find it hard to increase their professional experience due to being independent in the job. In conclusion, no matter from the side of corporation or personal improvement, there is no doubt that people find it hard to be successful at work if they are selfish and careless about others.