In many countries there is a shortage of suitable people for essential jobs. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Numerous countries have a staff shortage in medicine and other fields requiring a great deal of training. However, simultaneously, I believe that there may be a lack of unskilled and semi-skilled workers, like cleaners or drivers. The gap in skilled professions is partly by virtue of time as well as money. First and foremost, the instruction for a nurse or physician takes several ears and is prohibitively expensive. Future needs fail to be predicted very accurately, thus it is demanding to ensure that enough people are trained. Countless individuals and countries simply cannot afford the training. A shortage may also result from variation in the cost of living. In my country, very few public sector employees, such as police officers, can afford accommodation in the most affluent regions, resulting in ever-increasing staff shortages in those areas. The problem can be alleviated, though, only to a limited extent, by subsidising housing for certain workers. Nevertheless, some governments have tackled the problem by determining what subjects students should study, which ensures that enough lawyers and teachers are trained. One drawback, however, is that it ignores differences in people's motivation and aptitude, and may mean that someone who might have been an excellent dentist has become a mediocre accountant instead. As the level of education rises, fewer people are willing to take on menial work such as refuse collection. However, the unpleasantness of such work could be recognised through high wages, although this may require a transformation of the country's economy as well. To conclude, shortages are probably inevitable, though the fields and geographical areas where they occur are likely to change from time to time.