Do you think that modern technology, such as the internet and computers will ever replace the book or the written word as the main source of information? Give reasons for your answer using your own ideas and experience.

There is a perspective held by certain individuals that traditional newspapers or books will not be purchased anymore and will instead be replaced by digital formats. I completely agree with that statement, as it offers massive convenience and has the potential to significantly mitigate environmental impacts. Firstly, as a well-known research study shows, producing 1 kilogram of paper requires 2 to 3 times its weight in wood, and if everyone used an average of 1 kilogram of paper per year, there would be no tree on this planet.  Air pollution and waste are taken into account as significant environmental challenges, primarily attributed to the scarcity of forests. The production and utilization of paper have a significant impact on the phenomenon of global warming, potentially leading to severe consequences for our planet. Efforts are made to minimize paper consumption in order to address the environmental impact we are inflicting upon the Earth. Secondly, the bombardment of technology has made the internet an essential part of our lives. It is easier for us to access and read necessary information in books and newspapers with a few clicks. Besides, digital news is always updated quickly, so readers may not fear missing out on the latest and hottest news without paying any price. But It also does not require space for storage, which will help us save money and time for other things. For instance, there are so many interesting apps, such as Fonos, Daily Mail Online, or Spodify, that have convenient features to read, watch, or listen to the news and books on global platforms. In conclusion, from my perspective, the advantages of online methods are not only beneficial financially but also minimize the impact on the environment and protect our home.