Some people think watching television is a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Write an essay justifying your choice.

t is a common belief,especially among the older generation, that watching television is a waste of time but I strongly disagree and I would like to justify my views in detail below. First of all,I wholeheartedly believe that time spent relaxing is not wasted and we all need some sort of self-care every single day and on days that we have worked extra hard, TV seems like an excellent choice to unwind and relax.It provides uswith agreat great deal of comfort and quick laughs and doesn't consume a lot of energy as it is a passive activity. Not only does television provide us with a good deal of entertainment, it is quite educational as well. Both government and private sectors have a wide variety of informational programs ranging from nursery rhymes to the most advanced scientific research.There is definitely something for everyone and every age group. For example,I've always been interested in nature and wild-life and I've learnt a lot from Discovery Channel and Animal Planet but if someone else is interested in cooking there are plenty of resources available for that too.It also keeps us informed about the day-to-day happening around us in the form of news and one can even learn a new language just by keeping up with drams in that particular language. Lastly,television happens to be the perfect companion for people who live alone as it can go on and on talking about various subjects without getting tired. However, it should also be kept in mind that too much of anything is good for nothing and prolonged exposure to TV can come with dangerous effects,specifically among children ranging from vision trouble to serious mental illnesses. In conclusion,I'm of the opinion that TV isn't as evil as it seems to be and can be recreational and informative at the same time.If we use technology to our advantage,it can definitely do more good than harm.