Some people argue that immigrants should adopt the local culture when immigrating to a new country. An alternative view is that they can adapt to a new environment by establishing a minority community. Discuss these two views and give your opinion.

Whether immigrants should adopt the local culture has emerged as one of the most debated topics in recent decades. Some people believe they should change to keep up with a new country, while others believe keeping their own unique characteristics is the best way. In this essay, I will discuss both views and support the latter one. On the one hand, advocates of adopting the new heritage argue that the new culture is too different from the old one. It is because the newcomer is a minority community in a new country. Keeping their own way of living means that they cannot blend in with local citizens. Accordingly, they also may feel lonely and separated. For example, an Indian worker who is eating by hand frequently may feel disconnected if they eat that way at an American office. On the other hand, some people argue that newcomers can establish a minority community to make things easier. It is because a group of immigrants can help each other and give advice. In many cases, ethnic groups play an important role in guidance and orientation. For instance, the Vietnamese community in my neighbourhood has been helping thousands of newcomers to find jobs or to file taxes. In many cases, immigrants are not good at foreign languages. Thus, they need help with daily life, school, or law cases. To conclude, although immigrating to a new life requires lots of changes. Still, I believe that it should be a mixture of old and new cultures. Immigrants can keep their own unique traits while adjusting to a totally different life.