Tourism today creates a variety of problems, such as pollution due to flights, traffic congestion, and water pollution. Do you think that governments should impose extra taxes on flights or accommodations to restrict today’s tourism industry?

There is no denying the fact that many governments benefit from tourism. While it is a commonly held belief that tourism activities have caused an increase in pollution and that countries should impose taxes to reduce the number of tourists, there is also an argument that opposes this view. In my opinion, I believe that tourism is important, and we should not make it difficult for people to travel. To begin with, imposing taxes and fines on tourists is not an effective way to solve pollution issues, especially since the main beneficiaries are the host countries. In other words, it is unfair to place the burden on tourists, even if the taxes are low. Moreover, tourism contributes significantly to the country’s economy by increasing national income and providing many job opportunities. It has helped many citizens improve their living conditions. For example, in Thailand, tourism profits make up fifteen percent of the national budget. Another point to consider is that there are many sources of pollution. If we take traffic as an example, we should realize that people use cars in their hometowns just as they do when they travel, so tourism does not significantly increase pollution. Instead, we should provide electric cars and subway systems for transportation, and enforce laws requiring people —especially taxi and bus drivers—to use them. These options should be made comfortable and affordable to encourage tourists to use them. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe that tourism has significant advantages. It benefits people more than it harms them, so critics should reconsider their position and focus on finding better solutions.