Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. What are the advantages or disadvantages for their study?

Recently along with those who choose to continue further study in universities after high school graduation, there are a considerable number of young learners deciding to take a gap year for travelling or working before going straight to university. In this essay, I will clarify both the merits and demerits of this movement for school leavers’ education. To begin with, the trend towards delaying further education is beneficial to high school graduates with their later studies. In particular, school leavers receive opportunities to explore their potential and life goals before attending any higher educational institutions. By doing part-time jobs and travelling to different regions domestically or abroad, the young can relax their mind, identify their interests, and find their inspirations for further study. This betters their decision-making in terms of choosing the right majors and future careers. If the young can not study their suitable academic field in college, they are likely to lose motivation and interest towards their education. Consequently, it prevents them from achieving better academic results. Moreover, gap years for individuals facilitate the graduates to learn practical skills which are necessary to their major. Many students find it incomprehensible knowledge taught at universities or colleges, which may affect their academic results. For this reason, if the young are exposed to real working environments where they can learn several skills related to their desired educational field, they will find the knowledge gained in universities relevant and informative to their later career path. As a result, they can attain higher academic achievements. However, this trend also implicit several drawbacks to young people’s academic learning. One of the disadvantages is break years are counter-productive for those who do not possess great concentration, firm determination, and self-discipline as they can not make great use of the break and waste it for fruitless interests such as playing games or sleeping in, … A further point that can be taken into consideration is that some young learners can be so tempted by earning money or having a break that they discontinue their education. In conclusion, although working or travelling before going to university might be ideal for young people thanks to its numerous benefits, they shouldn’t overlook its hidden disadvantages.