Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believethat they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There is a notion that people should study whatever they like in the university. In contrast, another statement is they have to study crucial subjects, such as those related to science and technology. It is true that all countries really need science and technology to improve their quality of life. Yet, it is important to note that everyone has their own capability and passion. Nowadays, science and technology are the most important aspects to people to improve their quality of life. Developing countries are more aware of conducting more research so that they can develop or generate new technology. For example, in the past, bananas had a short lifetime because ethylene which is naturally produced by bananas caused ripening acceleration. However, in recent times, there have been several methods to prevent banana decay, such as using an adsorbent to adsorb ethylene. As a result, this way gives several advantages to farmer life. However, apart from science and technology, people also need other aspects of life, such as arts and sports. It is also crucial to ensure that there is also an expertise in those fields. It is good if people get good entertainment and have a good work- life balance. Therefore, it is ok if students are allowed to choose the subject based on their passions and capabilities. For example, we can not force a student who is not good at math and science but talented in art to become an engineer or a doctor. Definitely, he/she will make a huge contribution to society if he/she becomes an artist in the future. In conclusion, it will be wiser if we allow students to choose a subject based on their passions and abilities. Even though the most important subjects to the growth of countries are science and technology, we still need expertise in other fields to fulfil our needs as humans. We also need something fun to get a better work- life balance.