Nowadays older people often live in retirement homes with people of their own age instead of living with their children. Is it a positive or negative development?

It has become more popular for the elderly to move to retirement homes instead of living with their families. Some may think that this development has some drawbacks, which should be taken into consideration, in my opinion, however, it provides significant improvements in the well-being of older people in general. In many European countries, the elderly possess enough money to have the opportunity to pay for themselves, therefore, the possibility to start living in retirement homes, which provide medical and living assistance when needed. Previously, the economic situation was different and living with one's children was the only option to maintain the living costs. These days, I think, young families are more willing to have the freedom of living on their own without the control of their parents. Therefore, it is a positive development for both families and the elderly, since they both are living on their own terms. Retirement homes are good for the elderly for various reasons. First of all, they provide the elderly services such as medical checkups on a regular basis, therefore, keeping the health of the old people in control. Furthermore, compared to living at home, where all the relatives are elsewhere due to work during the day, the retirement centres provide more socializing opportunities for the old. Different day-time activities are organized for people of the same age, which reduces the feeling of loneliness and anxiety among people. To conclude, now that elder people have economic stability they are able to move to centres to retire together with people of the same age. Those provide important services to keep the health of the elderly in control as well as provide opportunities to socialize, which improves the mental well-being of people. These are the reasons, why I think this development is positive.