In some countries, a high proportion of criminal acts are committed by teenagers. Why has this happened? What can be done to deal with this?

There is a growing trend of juvenile delinquency which has raised huge concern worldwide. It is mainly resulted from the lack of mental health education, as well as the poor family relationships. To build a harmonious society, resolutions should be implemented to solve this serious issue. Firstly, the unawareness of teenager’s mental health is to blame for the growing criminal rate. With the improvement of material living standards, the youth are faced with so many challenges, such as peer pressure, high expectations from parents, and temptations on the Internet. Yet very little attention is put on their mental education, which will shed light and give guidance on how to get through hard times and maintain optimism. Secondly, juvenile delinquency is also owing to bad relationships within the original family. Many young criminals feel badly suffered since their childhood, due to their being left behind or domestic violence. Consequently, they break the law to attract more attention or just revenge for their sufferings.   There are two effective measures to the problem of juvenile delinquency. On the one hand, enhancing mental health education at school is urgent and necessary. The psychological course, which equips students with numerous skills to take good care of themselves and maintain good social relationships, should be arranged as important as physical education class. On the other hand, the social community should take the responsibility to supervise those unhappy or broken families and minimize the terrible consequences on their children. This solution would largely prevent the young victims from committing a crime for they are being protected by people who still care about them.   In conclusion, strengthening both mental health education and community supervision are effective solutions to solving juvenile delinquency. If governments promoted those plans, the criminal rate among the young generation would drop significantly.