It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

Small shops in rural areas experience hardship because of the competition with big malls and internet shops. I think it has detrimental effects on local infrastructure because of the decrease of consumers' demands, which leads to the closure of local markets, and one of the possible solutions is to increase the quality of goods in local shops and relocate them to a more convenient location. The competition of small stores with supermarkets leads to a win of the latest because of the availability of a large number of items with less costs. Thus it leads to the closure of local shops due to a lack of costumers demand. As a result, a lot of people in rural areas stay without shops, and some of them do not have opportunity to travel long distances to buy products. This situation results in inconvenience in the daily lives of the local community. The main possible solution to these challenges is to increase the quality of products in local shops. For instance, the opening up of abakery bakery with fresh bread and pastries. It could encourage more people from the local community to buy products in that place. Another way to tackle such a problem is to make a comfortable location of local markets, with convenient transportation. This can make shopping more convenient for local people who do not have their own cars, which also can lead to an increase in communities' demands for local markets. In conclusion, a low level of demand in local shops can result in the closure of these markets which creates a hardship for people in rural areas because of a lack of opportunities to buy something. And ways to cope with this problem are a good quality of local products and a convenient location of markets with good transport infrastructure.