More people live alone today than they did in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that the number of people living alone has increased considerably compared to previous decades. This essay will argue that this is a largely beneficial tendency. An obvious advantage of living along is the personal freedom that it provides. When a person shares their accommodation with another, be it a family member or roommate, they should take each other’s preferences into account. For example, a girl who is a university student may need silence in order to prepare for an exam while her teenage brother is watching a soccer game. However, if the former were on her own in a student dormitory, there would be no such distraction. In addition, people usually grow more self-reliant when they have no one living with them. This is because people otherwise tend to rely on the support of their partners or family members, thinking that they are not solely responsible for every single household issue. By contrast, those who live away from their family are forced to deal with a variety of issues on a daily basis. For example, male students who study overseas eventually learn to cook different meals for themselves, while they would otherwise consider it a feminine job. Yet, it should also be noted that living without anyone in company could, on rare occasions, put the person’s life or health at risk. To illustrate, a person who lives alone might find themselves in a difficult situation in the event of an unexpected health issue in their home, with no one providing them first aid. Thus, this kind of possibilities should be given a serious thought. It is therefore reasonable to conclude that living alone has more upsides than drawbacks; while such individuals get to absolute personal freedom and learn to become self-sufficient, they may also desperately need immediate support in the case of a health-related problem.