Some people believe that if a child commits a crime, he or she should be punished, while others think it is the child’s parent who should be punished. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Commiting a crime has become common among the modern generation, therefore some individuals argue that children should get some punishment for their wrongdoing actions, while others consider that parents are responsible for these issues and should be penalised. I believe that youngsters are the ones who should be punished and I will discuss both sides of the topic in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, people who support that child should be punished think that it is imperative to hold the child accountable for their actions. In other words, children do not consider that committing a crime might ruin their lives, therefore they should be penalised to make them aware of the consequences they may get after doing an offence. Also, teaching them lessons by legal authorities might bring them on the right path, and societies will not have to struggle to mitigate crime situations. For instance, according to Word News, 60% of children have been committing crimes since 2016 as they were neglected due to their age, but the percentage has been reduced in recent years due to implementation of huge amounts of fines. On the other side, people who are opposite from the above paragraph consider that parents are responsible for providing guidance, supervision and a nurturing environment for their children. To explain, in this hectic era, some parents are not giving full attention towards their kids due to work and they spend their time doing long shifts to earn more money instead of spending time with their children. For example, with the World Service, 85% of people are doing jobs for longer hours to feed their families and they connect with their kids on the weekends which not only becomes the reason for crime but it also removes the fear of their parents from the children's minds. As a result, young ones choose their path of crime with the influence of the wrong people. To conclude, although both sides have their own opinion, I think getting a punishment can aware children of what is wrong and right for themselves as well and this can be possible if parents focus towards their youngsters to become accurate civilians in society.