Question: Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plant and animals. Other say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Environmental issues are emerging. A part of society argues that these issues are caused by the decreasing of particular species of plants and animals, while the other believe that there more important environmental problems that does more harm. Significant decreases of certain species will cause food chain instability and difficulty in managing disasters. An example for the former is that, when there is a downfall of insects within an ecosystem, it will affect the food production of plants since their reproduction process are helped by insects. As a result, there will be insufficient food supply for the herbivore and eventually affect the carnivore. Additionally, regarding the latter, several plants often contribute through their roots in maintaining the structure of land, and prevent us from experiencing landslides. Despite the problem caused by decreasing habitat diversity, environmental issues such as industrial waste and pollution also become major contributors. For instance, in Indonesia, the owner of textile industries are often disobeying the rules of fabric-coloring sewage standards. As a result, the land soils are contaminated by heavy metals that were used as coloring substances. Furthermore, the pollution issues are often caused by coal-based power plant. For example, in Indonesia, approximately 80% of its electricity are supplied by coal-based energy, which means there are a massive number of ashes that are released to the air. To sum up, I agree that the other source of the environmental problems such as industries and power plants are the major contributors since they engage in a big production scale.